Rec & Grounds Dec 8th Meeting

Recreation & Grounds Committee

The December 8, 2014 meeting of the Recreation and Grounds Committee, held at South Riding Center          was called to order at 7:04 p.m. by Marge Morales, Committee Chair.

Members Attending: Marge Morales, Charlene Jones, Lorraine Conlon, Steve Sebestyen, Ken Walsh

Board Liaisons: Meggan Walker Estee LaClare

Members Absent: John Winkert, Donna Mines

Staff Attending: Jennifer Burke

Guests Attending:  Jeff Salmon, Carol Johnson

Resident Comments:  Steven Sebestyen requested a playground to be built in Parcel C.

Jeff Salmon stated he did not think that the area is a safe place for a playground.

Approval of the Minutes:   Mr.Sebestyen moved and Ms. Conlon seconded to approve the November 10, 2014 Recreation & Grounds committee meeting minutes. The motion passed (5-0-0).


Chair Report:

Marge Morales- Ms. Morales reported that she requested an update from Paul Goudeau at Loudoun County Dulles South Multipurpose Center on the Phase 2 and 3 additions. Mr. Goudeau responded that he has no update at this time.

Board Report:
Meggan Walker- No Report

Operations/Recreation Report: Rebecca Lyons/Jennifer Burke

• Additional trees screening at Donovan and Braddock Road are to be installed by December 12, 2014.
• A course designer is to evaluate SRP property for Disc Golf when weather is more cooperative.
• Hyland Hills eating area expansion will not be moving forward at this time.
• The Proprietary is waiting for design proposals for the open space areas in West Riding and on Elk Lick Drive/Center Street.

Discussion Items:
• The Committee members were in favor of adding Shade at South Riding Center Park.

New Business:

• Mr. Walsh moved and Mr. Sebestyen seconded to recommend that Marge Morales be reappointed as Chairperson and Charlene Jones be appointed Vice Chairperson to the Recreation and Grounds Committee. The motion passed unanimously ( 5-0-0 )

Meeting adjourned: Ms. Conlon moved and Ms. Jones seconded to adjourn the meeting at 7:37 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

Next meeting: January 12, 2015 at 7:00 pm. @ Town Hall.