Web & Tech April 2010

Website & Technology Committee

Meeting Date: Tuesday, April 13, 2010 at Town Hall

Committee Member Attendees: Gary Smith, Pat Himes, Mike Becvar, and Talitha Trotman

SRP and Board Representatives:Jeff Salmon, Wendy Taylor, and Lisa Pitarque. 

Guests:  Ted Lange

Call to Order - Gary Smith called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Resident Comment Period - None

Approve Minutes - Pat Himes moved that the March 9, 2010 meeting minutes be approved as presented.  The motion was seconded by Mike Becvar and passed unanimously.

Board Update - Mr. Smith attended the April Board meeting and discussed website issues with the Board.  The Board is interested in discussing possible upgrades to the website.

New Business

F1 - The Committee reviewed a F1 monthly update regarding the IT network at Town Hall and South Riding Center (attached). 

Website Update - New Armstrong data not showing on website (new streets/new owners).  Jonathan Finch (CIMS) is working to create an interface for downloading Armstrong resident data into CIMS.

Ms. Taylor stressed the urgency of resolving RecPass issues in a timely manner.

Ben Simon joined the meeting via conference call to discuss items discovered during the Joomla updates: 

Changes were made to the core code that are overridden with each Joomla upgrade

  • Data is being pushed to the web server but unable to identify or locate (3rd party information that isn’t visible).  Lisa will put Ben and Jonathan in touch to work on the website RecPass feature/data upload.
  • Discussion regarding website security
  • Discussion regarding continuing the Joomla upgrades vs. an upgrade to the website platform.

The Committee to determine critical issues and distribute a new RFP.   The Committee will revisit the website issue in six months if no quote is received from three vendors on creating a new web platform or a security issue occurs.

Lisa will distribute original website proposals to the Committee.

Adjourn - There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 8:50 p.m.

The next meeting will be held on May 11, 2010 at Town Hall at 7:00 p.m.